Skip to content

MBM Motorsports Shuffling up Driver Lineup For Xfinity Series Race at Indy Road Course

Photo Credit: @MBMMotorsports on Twitter.

When the NASCAR Xfinity Series returns to action this Saturday for their first-ever race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, MBM Motorsports will be sporting a slightly different driver lineup than we’ve been accustomed to in 2020.

No, they won’t have any road course ringers, rather their usual cast of characters will be in different cars than we have become to expect this season, according to newly released NASCAR team rosters for this weekend’s Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard.

Timmy Hill, who has primarily driven the No. 61 entry (nine starts) with a couple of starts also coming in the No. 66, will slide into the seat of the team’s No. 13 car this weekend.

Hill has been sensational in 2020.

He finished third in the season-opening event at Daytona International Speedway, and he took home his second top-10 of the season this past weekend at Pocono with an eighth-place effort. Hill also scored a 14th-place finish at Bristol six races ago.

Stephen Leicht, who has run all nine of his races in 2020 in the No. 66 machine, will move over to the No. 61 for this event. Leicht has yet to finish a race in 2020, as all of his other starts have resulted in parts failures. Leicht, who has one-career NASCAR Xfinity Series win, has a best finish of 27th this year, which came at Pocono Raceway on Sunday.

Chad Finchum, who has run all 12 races this year in the No. 13 entry, will move over to the No. 66 car this weekend. Finchum sits 22nd in the championship standings, and he has a pair of top-20 finishes so far this year.

So, while the drivers will be virtually the same guys we’ve seen wheeling the MBM Motorsports cars all season long, they’ll all be in a car that they haven’t driven yet this season.

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: