Close this search box.


Ty Gibbs Begins Xfinity Series Championship Quest with Fast Time in Daytona Practice


PC: RJ Starcevic |

It wasn’t but a week ago that Joe Gibbs Racing announced that Ty Gibbs would compete for the 2022 NASCAR Xfinity Series championship, and now, Gibbs, is already leading the pack, posting the fastest lap in the series’ only practice session at Daytona.

The No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota Supra led a four-car draft around the 2.5-mile superspeedway, which saw teammates Brandon Jones and Drew Dollar round out the top-three, with Ryan Truex and Noah Gragson rounding out the top-five.

Justin Allgaier, Josh Berry, Daniel Hemric, Sam Mayer, and AJ Allmendinger rounded out the top-10 in the 50-minute session.

All 47 cars entered into the season-opening Beef. It’s What’s for Dinner. 300 at Daytona made a lap throughout the session, with Tim Viens’ No. 74 clocking in as the slowest car.

NASCAR Xfinity Series Final Practice Results:

PsCarDriverBest TimeDiff.Laps
154Ty Gibbs48.22023
219Brandon Jones48.226-0.00622
318Drew Dollar48.238-0.01832
426Ryan Truex48.247-0.02714
59Noah Gragson48.307-0.08724
67Justin Allgaier48.316-0.09614
78Josh Berry48.334-0.11416
811Daniel Hemric48.349-0.12917
91Sam Mayer48.357-0.13714
1016AJ Allmendinger48.363-0.14317
1110Landon Cassill48.400-0.18720
1248Jade Buford48.472-0.2528
132Brett Moffitt48.620-0.40010
1423Anthony Alfredo48.633-0.41310
1527Jeb Burton48.639-0.41910
1651Jeremy Clements48.795-0.5759
1731Myatt Snider48.860-0.64014
1868Brandon Brown48.921-0.70110
1998Riley Herbst48.934-0.71418
2039Ryan Sieg48.938-0.71812
2177Ronnie Bassett Jr.49.116-0.89610
222Sheldon Creed #49.211-0.9917
236Ryan Vargas49.237-1.0174
245Matt Mills49.291-1.0717
2521Austin Hill #49.384-1.1645
2692Kyle Weatherman49.407-1.18710
2745Caesar Bacarella49.428-1.2086
2836Josh Bilicki49.542-1.3227
2991Mason Massey49.635-1.41511
304Bayley Currey49.718-1.4986
3134Jesse Iwuji #49.819-1.5999
3278Josh Williams49.820-1.6008
3353Joey Gase49.827-1.6075
3444Tommy Joe Martins49.847-1.6274
3524Jeffrey Earnhardt49.852-1.6329
3666JJ Yeley49.859-1.6393
3738CJ McLaughlin49.883-1.6634
3899Stefan Parsons49.998-1.7786
3933Natalie Decker50.053-1.83310
407Joe Graf Jr.50.059-1.83910
4128Kyle Sieg50.115-1.8957
428David Starr50.148-1.9283
4390Alex Labbe50.238-2.0186
4447Gray Gaulding50.367-2.1475
4535Shane Lee50.703-2.4834
4652Harrison Rhodes51.200-2.9809
4774Tim Viens(i)51.944-3.7242
share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

TCResultsGraphicCharlotte (6)
Race Results: 2024 NCS Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte
Christopher Bell wins rain shortened Coca-Cola 600 Charlotte Motor Speedway 2024
Christopher Bell Wins Rain-Shortened Coca-Cola 600 Over Brad Keselowski
Larson Indianapolis 500 Kyle Larson NASCAR Cup Series
Speeding Penalty Relegates Kyle Larson to 18th-Place Finish in First Indianapolis 500
Noah Gragson crash 2024 Coca-Cola 600 Charlotte Motor Speedway video
Video: Noah Gragson Done for the Day After Crashing Into Backstretch Wall
Kyle Larson Playoff Waiver Hendrick Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series NTT IndyCar Series Indianapolis 500 Coca-Cola 600 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Charlotte Motor Speedway
SRIGLEY: The Kyle Larson Waiver Question Has A Blatantly Obvious Answer
Kyle Larson Staying in Indy; Justin Allgaier to Start Coke 600 in No. 5

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article