Close this search box.


Busch Light Clash Returns to LA Coliseum in 2024; NASCAR Mexico Series Race Added

The LA Memorial Coliseum will host the Busch Light Clash for the third straight year on February 4th, 2024, while the NASCAR Mexico Series will be added to an action-packed schedule at the track. Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

For the third straight year, NASCAR is set to begin its season-long grind with a trip to Los Angeles, California, with the announcement Sunday that the Busch Light Clash will return to the LA Memorial Coliseum on Sunday, February 4, 2024.

But this time, NASCAR is adding even more racing to an already action-packed weekend of festivities, with the addition of a NASCAR Mexico Series event that is scheduled to precede its season-opening exhibition event for the stars of the NASCAR Cup Series.

“This is a tremendous win for our fans and our sport,” said Ben Kennedy, NASCAR’s Senior Vice President, Racing Development and Strategy. “Not only will the fans see the stars of the NASCAR Cup Series in action, they will also bear witness to the talent and skill that is found within the NASCAR Mexico Series. I can’t think of a better way to begin our 2024 season.”

NASCAR has now opened its season with the Busch Light Clash at the LA Memorial Coliseum for the last two seasons, with Joey Logano winning the inaugural event in 2022, and Martin Truex, Jr. starting his season with a victory in February.

Now, a driver competing in the NASCAR Mexico Series will also have the opportunity to celebrate a triumph inside an international stadium that’s hosted two Super Bowls, two Olympics, a World Series, and countless other major sporting events.

“This is an incredible honor for the NASCAR Mexico Series and its drivers,” said Jimmy Morales, President and General Manager of the NASCAR Mexico Series. “The competition in our series is always intense, but I know our drivers will want nothing more than to become the first Mexican driver to win inside the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. This is going to be a race we will not soon forget.”

The roots of the NASCAR Mexico Series were developed in 2004, and three years later, it became NASCAR’s first-ever internationally sanctioned series. The series competes on tracks throughout nine major cities in Mexico, providing racing fans with some of the most intense racing on the planet.

Daniel Suarez, a NASCAR Cup Series winner and champion of the NASCAR Xfinity Series, began his stock car racing career in the NASCAR Mexico Series in 2008. Max Gutierrez and Andres Perez de Lara are other NASCAR Mexico Series talent who are currently working through NASCAR’s development ranks.

A full list of NASCAR Mexico Series drivers that will compete in the event on February 4th will be announced at a later date, as will the full schedule of events and entertainment. NASCAR on FOX will broadcast the Busch Light Clash, while Fox Sports 3 in Mexico will have coverage of the NASCAR Mexico Series event.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Nick Sanchez Strikes Late for Second Win of 2024; Collects $50k Triple Truck Challenge Bonus
Daniel Dye Conner Jones 2024 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Charlotte Motor Speedway North Carolina Education Lottery 200
Daniel Dye Latest Truck Driver Upset with Conner Jones: 'He's Been Watching Too Many Dale Sr. YouTube Videos'
TCResultsGraphicCharlotte (3)
Race Results: 2024 NCTS North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte
Tyler Ankrum Thad Moffitt Charlotte crash 2024 video North Carolina Education Lottery 200 video Jeffrey Earnhardt Keith McGee
Video: Ankrum Goes Head-First into Wall, T-Boned by Moffitt; McGee and Earnhardt Involved
Frank Kimmel_Charlotte
'It's Special To Be Back': Will Kimmel Finishes An Emotional Fourth Place In Charlotte
Redemption Arrives For Tanner Gray As He Wins The General Tire 150

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article