Tuesday, November 21, 2023

Source: Dave Winston to Join Daniel Suarez as Crew Chief of No. 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing Car

An anonymous source within the Gaunt Brothers Racing organization has confirmed to TobyChristie.com that Dave Winston will join Daniel Suarez at the No. 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing team for the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season. Winston will serve the role as crew chief for the effort.

Mark Hillman was the crew chief for GBR in 2019.

- Advertisement -

This will not be the first tour of for Winston, who served as an engineer at Richard Childress Racing in 2019, as a crew chief.

TobyChristie.com reached out to Richard Childress Racing and the organization was able to confirm that Winston is no longer on staff at their organization.

Attempts to reach Winston for comment have gone unanswered at this time.

Winston was the crew chief for Alex Bowman during his Cup Series rookie campaign in 2014 at BK Racing, and he was the crew chief for 25 races at Leavine Family Racing in 2016.

Winston’s best-career finish as a crew chief was a 10th-place effort by Michael McDowell at Daytona in July of 2016.

Gaunt Brothers Racing, which has never ran a full season in their history, has never scored a top-10 finish in the NASCAR Cup Series. Their best finish to date was a 13th-place finish with Parker Kligerman behind the wheel at Daytona in July of 2018.

Winston will play a key role in the performance of the No. 96 car in 2020.

TobyChristie.com first reported that the deal with Suarez and Gaunt Brothers Racing was a done deal on Friday. The announcement of Suarez as the driver of the No. 96 machine for the full-time 2020 campaign is still expected this week.

Daniel Suarez finished 17th in the NASCAR Cup Series point standings a season ago while driving for Stewart-Haas Racing, but he was supplanted in the No. 41 ride by Cole Custer.

Toby Christie
Toby Christiehttps://tobychristie.com
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of TobyChristie.com. Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is an award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow us


Latest Articles