Wednesday, November 22, 2023

Bubba Pollard Scores ASA STARS Win Over William Byron, Chase Elliott at North Wilkesboro

Bubba Pollard wins North Wilkesboro ASA STARS 2023 William Byron Chase Elliott
Bubba Pollard held off Hendrick Motorsports teammates William Byron and Chase Elliott to score the win in Wednesday night’s ASA STARS race at North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Bubba Pollard is without a doubt one of, if not the, best short-track racers in the country. And if there was any doubt, Pollard put an exclamation point on things Wednesday night at North Wilkesboro Speedway as he held off William Byron to score the win by 0.309 sec.

While early in the race it looked like William Byron or Chase Elliott would go on to win on the night.

- Advertisement -

“We took off there, and we were pretty good. I let William by me there to see what he had, so I could see what he had so I knew if we needed to be better and make some adjustments. Then Chase came out of nowhere and was fast. I told them on the radio we don’t have anything for them,” Pollard said of his car in the early part of the race.

Pollard and his No. 26 team got the car tuned perfectly on the final Stage break of the evening, and his car was on rails in the final portion of the event.

“Made the right adjustments on that last break, put four tires on it, and she was good,” Pollard explained.

Pollard dominated the final stage of the ASA STARS ECMD 150, but in the closing laps lapped traffic made things very interesting, and gave Byron another chance to attempt to get by Pollard. However, with a couple of laps to go, Byron slipped high in one set of turns, and that was all Pollard needed to wrap up the win.

After the race, Pollard had some choice words for the lapped traffic that refused to yield to him as he was trying to hold off the NASCAR Cup Series stars for the win.

“I owe them boys one, it’s called disrespect,” Pollard pointed sharply. “10 laps to go, but they’re tired of seeing me up front and winning like it was back in the day. Just no respect, and the favor may be returned one day and I won’t give them the respect back. It’s part of racing. You remember it.”

Behind Pollard was a who’s, who list of NASCAR Cup and Xfinity Series talents as behind Byron, the driver of the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series car, were Chase Elliott (2020 NASCAR Cup Series champion), Sammy Smith (No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing NASCAR Xfinity Series driver) and Daniel Suarez (No. 99 Trackhouse Racing NASCAR Cup Series driver).

Kaden Kvapil, Casey Roderick, Cole Butcher, Derek Thorn and Ty Majeski rounded out the top-10 finishers in the 32-car field on Wednesday night.

ASA STARS ECMD 150 Race Results

FinNo.DriverLapsDiffBest Lap
126pBubba Pollard150--19.151
224bWilliam Byron1500.30919.189
39eChase Elliott1501.56719.170
422sSammy Smith1504.65019.302
599Daniel Suarez1506.06219.407
635Caden Kvapil1509.38419.621
718cCasey Roderick15013.92419.652
828bCole Butcher15015.07719.423
97tDerek Thorn15015.25119.546
1091Ty Majeski15016.01819.218
1154Matthew Craig15016.18819.481
122sWilliam Sawalich15016.21119.721
1350Jett Noland15019.14719.661
1414nAustin Nason15020.37219.668
1569Michael Hinde15020.61319.542
1644dJeremy Doss15021.02419.791
1751nStephen Nasse1491 lap19.484
1814hCarson Hocevar1491 lap19.777
1951fJake Finch1491 lap19.783
2098Blaine Rocha1491 lap19.763
219hHudson Halder1491 lap19.578
2233fAlbert Francis1491 lap19.503
2332Grant Enfinger1482 laps19.750
242jJohn Bolen1482 laps19.660
2512GDerek Griffith1482 laps19.678
2620sAnthony Sergi1482 laps19.757
2723Billy VanMeter1482 laps19.936
287cJustin Crider1482 laps20.029
2922rGio Ruggiero1473 laps19.510
3030Noah Gragson9753 laps19.667
3144jConner Jones9555 laps19.689
329kDerek Kraus9555 laps20.096
Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is an award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow us


Latest Articles