Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Brenden Queen Scores Win in CARS Tour Late Model Stock Feature at North Wilkesboro

Brenden Queen bested a stacked field in the CARS Tour Late Model Stock race at North Wilkesboro Speedway for his second-career win on Saturday night.

Brenden Queen emerged victorious in Wednesday night’s CARS Tour Late Model Stock Tour event at North Wilkesboro Speedway, as he bested a field filled with NASCAR Cup Series stars.

After scoring potentially the biggest win of his young career, the 24-year-old was ready to celebrate in the only way fitting — with some damn waffles.

“This is nuts. I said all week to my guys we were going to ride the lift, and damn if we didn’t. Only thing we need up here is some Waffle House, and we’d be having a damn good time,” Queen shouted from the North Wilkesboro Speedway victory lane. “But we’re getting there. We’ll be at a Waffle House at some point tonight.”

Over the closing laps, nobody had anything for Queen, as he cruised to the finish line by 4.783 seconds over Ryan Millington, who finished in the runner-up spot.

For Queen, who entered the night second in the championship standings behind JR Motorsports driver Carson Kvapil, this marks his second-career CARS Tour Late Model Stock Tour victory.

Jared Fryar came home in third, Connor Hall finished fourth and Kaden Honeycutt was the highest-finishing NASCAR driver in fifth.

Layne Riggs came home in sixth, and he was followed by Chad McCumbee, Carson Kvapil, Zack Miracle, and Chase Briscoe in the top 10.

A massive crash just 30 laps into the 125-lap race really had a massive impact on how the race played out as a ton of the stars from NASCAR were swept up in the incident.

That crash was triggered when Carson Kvapil got into the rear of Bobby Pierce on the outside during a restart. This bottled up the field, which collected Dale Earnhardt Jr., who suffered major front-end damage, William Sawalich, Daniel Suarez, Brad Keselowski, and several others that hoped to contend for the win on Wednesday night.

Video: Suarez, Keselowski, Earnhardt, Jr. Sustain Minor Damage in Multi-Car Crash at North Wilkesboro

Seven of the 37 drivers in the field saw their races end due to this crash including Andrew Grady, Connor Zilisch, Deac McCaskill, Landon Pembelton, Chase Burrow, Mini Tyrrell, and William Sawalich.

Notable finishes for NASCAR drivers included Kaden Honeycutt (5th), Layne Riggs (6th), Chase Briscoe (10th), Kevin Harvick (11th), Brad Keselowski (12th), Daniel Suarez (15th), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (16th), Ross Chastain (19th), and Tyler Ankrum (24th).

CARS Tour Window World 125 at North Wilkesboro Race Results

PosNo.DriverLapsDiffBest Lap
103Brenden Queen125--19.850
215Ryan Millington1254.78320.162
314Jared Fryar1255.07319.965
477Connor Hall1256.56820.137
510Kaden Honeycutt1256.87220.110
699Layne Riggs1257.89920.382
716Chad McCumbee1258.51820.363
88Carson Kvapil1259.41020.060
932Zack Miracle1259.46020.289
105Chase Briscoe1259.63320.443
1162Kevin Harvick12512.12320.463
126KBrad Keselowski12513.11120.588
1324Mason Diaz12513.37720.440
1404Ronnie Bassett Jr.12514.48820.348
1599sDaniel Suarez12514.84820.298
163Dale Earnhardt Jr.12515.60820.244
1744Conner Jones12516.38820.146
182Brandon Pierce12516.76220.425
1928CRoss Chastain12517.33520.601
2067Cameron Bolin12517.53920.569
2122Landon Huffman12517.74120.664
2242Carson Brown12519.14720.746
2387Tate Fogleman12520.03120.719
2498Tyler Ankrum1241 lap20.817
2597AJason Kitzmiller1241 lap20.857
264Dylon Wilson1223 laps20.470
275BBryant Barnhill1223 laps20.731
286Bobby McCarty1169 laps20.143
2920Josh Dickens11312 laps20.422
3095Jacob Heafner9629 laps20.463
3143William Sawalich3095 laps20.436
3281Mini Tyrrell3095 laps20.092
338bChase Burrow3095 laps20.455
340Landon Pembelton3095 laps20.624
3508Deac McCaskill3095 laps20.636
3657Connor Zilisch3095 laps20.723
371Andrew Grady3095 laps20.686
Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles