Wednesday, March 22, 2023

Heat Three Victory Launches Logano to Pole, Dillon, Majeski, Smith Capture Other Heat Victories

PC: Jonathan McCoy |

Making a one-off appearance in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, Joey Logano has captured the pole for Friday’s Pinty’s Truck Race on Dirt at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Logano, who started the third heat race from sixth place, was able to methodically pick up spots in the opening laps, before moving into the lead on lap 8 and never looking pack, netting him 10 heat points and five passing points.

Ben Rhodes, who entered Bristol as the series points leader, will start on the outside of the front row, after following a similar path as Logano, moving from seventh to second in the third of four 15-lap heat races.

Stewart Friesen, Parker Kligerman, and Chandler Smith will round out the top-five starters for Friday’s 150-lap event on the 0.533-mile dirt oval. Carson Hocevar, Chase Elliott, Ty Majeski, Matt DiBenedetto, and Austin Dillon will compete in the top-10.

The four 15-lap heat races were rather tame, with the exception of a single-truck spin by Hailie Deegan midway through the third heat race.

However, in the first of four heat races, the track was still rather wet, which caused overheating issues for multiple trucks, including Buddy Kofoid and Tanner Gray.

Jessica Friesen – driving the No. 62 for Halmar Friesen Racing — and Norm Benning – driving the No. 6 for Norm Benning Racing — were the two drivers who failed to qualify for Friday’s event.

Heat 1 Winner: 20 – Austin Dillon (RESULTS)
Heat 2 Winner: 66 – Ty Majeski (RESULTS)
Heat 3 Winner: 54 – Joey Logano (RESULTS)
Heat 4 Winner: 18 – Chandler Smith (RESULTS)

Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles