Sunday, June 4, 2023

David Ragan Joins Rick Ware Racing in No. 15 Entry For Daytona 500, Multiple Races in 2022

David Ragan 2022 Daytona 500
David Ragan will contest the 2022 Daytona 500 and multiple races in 2022 for Rick Ware Racing in the No. 15 entry. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

David Ragan, a two-time winner in NASCAR Cup Series competition, will join Rick Ware Racing and drive the No. 15 entry in the 2022 Daytona 500, the team announced on Wednesday.

“I am thrilled to be back in The DAYTONA 500 driving the new 2022 Ford Mustang for RWR,” said Ragan. “I have always loved racing at Daytona, and know that we will have a shot to lead laps and contend for the win this year. The DAYTONA 500 is a special race with the best drivers in the world, and I cant wait to hit the track.”

RWR is excited to have a driver with a winning pedigree behind the wheel of their car for the Great American Race.

“I am really excited to have David back behind the wheel of one of our Rick Ware Racing Ford’s,” commented team owner, Rick Ware. “David is a great asset to the RWR family. In 2020, RWR scored our first Top 5 in the DAYTONA 500 with Ragan behind the wheel, and I’m optimistic that through our new Ford Performance alliance, we could see that No. 15 leading the field to the checkered flag on February 20th.”

According to the press release, Ragan will drive multiple races for Rick Ware Racing during the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season, but a full schedule was not revealed.

RWR also states in a press release that primary sponsors and paint schemes for the team’s 2022 entries will be announced in the coming days.

Ragan, 36, has made a total of 472 starts in the NASCAR Cup Series over a 16-year career. The native of Unadilla, Georgia has been retired from full-time competition since the conclusion of the 2019 season, but has run one race in each of the last two seasons.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles