

NASCAR Cup Series Championship Fast Facts

Provided by NASCAR Statistics – Sunday, November 8, 2020

Driver Champion: Chase Elliott Team: No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

- Chase Elliott has won his first NASCAR Cup Series championship becoming the 34th different driver to win a title.
- Chase Elliott is now the sixth different champion in the elimination-style format of the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs Kevin Harvick, 2014; Kyle Busch, 2015; Jimmie Johnson, 2016; Martin Truex Jr., 2017; Joey Logano, 2018; Kyle Busch, 2019; Chase Elliott, 2020.
- Elliott won the season finale at the Phoenix Raceway to claim the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series title.
- In 2020, Elliott has posted five wins, 15 top fives, and 22 top 10s. During the Playoffs this season, Elliott has produced three wins, five top fives and seven top 10s.
- The Elliotts join the Pettys (Lee: 1954, '58, '59 and Richard: 1964, '67, '71, '72, '74, '75, '79), and the Jarretts (Ned: 1961, '65 and Dale: 1999) as just the third father-son combo to win NASCAR Cup Series titles.
- Chase Elliott, from Dawsonville, Georgia, is the third NASCAR Cup Series champion from the state of Georgia; joining his father NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott (1988) from Dawsonville as well and NASCAR Hall of Famer Tim Flock, a two-time series champion (1952, 1955) from Atlanta.
- First series' Most Popular Driver to win the NASCAR Cup Series championship since 1988 (Bill Elliott).

Owner Champion: Hendrick Motorsports

- This is Hendrick Motorsports' record 13th NASCAR Cup Series owner championship, the most all-time (2020, '16, '13, '10, '09, '08, '07, '06, '01, '98, '97, '96, '95).
- This is Hendrick Motorsports' 16th NASCAR national series owner championship, extending its all-time record (13 Cup, three Gander Truck, 1997,1999, 2001).
- Hendrick Motorsports was the first team to win five consecutive championships (2006-2010). It was also the first to win four straight, from 1995-98 (Jeff Gordon in 1995 and 1997-98; Terry Labonte 1996).
- Hendrick Motorsports has won 13 of the last 26 NASCAR Cup Series championships (1995-2020), putting the team's title-winning percentage during that span at 50%.
- Hendrick Motorsports began its NASCAR Cup Series program in 1984 at Daytona International Speedway with driver Geoffrey Bodine.
- Hendrick Motorsports has led 19 drivers to Victory Lane for a total of 263 NASCAR Cup Series wins Geoffrey Bodine, Tim Richmond, Darrell Waltrip, Ken Schrader, Ricky Rudd, Jeff Gordon, Terry Labonte, Jerry Nadeau, Jimmie Johnson, Joe Nemechek, Kyle Busch, Brian Vickers, Casey Mears, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mark Martin, Kasey Kahne, Chase Elliott, Alex Bowman and William Byron.

Crew Chief Champion: Alan Gustafson

- Alan Gustafson, from Ormond Beach, Fla., has won his first NASCAR Cup Series championship, his previous best finish in the final series standings was runner-up with NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin in 2009.
- Gustafson is the 43rd different NASCAR Cup Series crew chief to win a championship.
- Gustafson has 31 career NASCAR Cup Series wins, with Chase Elliott, Kyle Busch, Mark Martin and Jeff Gordon.