



## **Bud Pole Winner: Jimmie Johnson**

DIRECTV 500 – Martinsville Speedway March 30, 2006

- **Jimmie Johnson** won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the DIRECTV 500, lapping Martinsville Speedway in 19.575 seconds at 96.736 mph. **Tony Stewart** holds the track-qualifying record of 19.306 seconds, 98.083 mph, set Oct. 21, 2005.
- This is Johnson's ninth career Bud Pole in 153 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races.
- Johnson posted his fifth top-10 start his 2005. His only non-top 10 came at Atlanta (14th).
- It is Johnson's first Bud Pole and fifth top-10 start in nine Martinsville races.
- The last Bud Pole by a Hendrick Motorsports driver was at New Hampshire in July 2005 by Brian Vickers.
- **Jamie McMurray** posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 19.583 seconds, 96.696 mph and will join Johnson on the front row for the DIRECTV 500. He posted his third top-10 start in 2006 and his third in seven races at Martinsville.
- This is the second Bud Pole for **Chevrolet** in 2006. **Dodge** also has two Bud Poles and **Ford** has one. Qualifying was canceled at Bristol.
- **Tony Stewart** (third) posted his third top-10 start this season, all third or better and all in the past four races. It is his eighth top-10 start in 15 races at Martinsville.
- **Ryan Newman** (fourth) has three top-10 starts this season, all in the past three races. This is his ninth top-10 start in as many races at Martinsville.
- **Kasey Kahne** (fifth) posted his first start better than 15th in five Martinsville races. This is his third top-10 start this season all top fives.
- Chad Blount (43rd) became the 52nd driver to make the field for a race this season.
- Six driver qualified for their first race at Martinsville: **Stanton Barrett**, **Chad Blount**, **Clint Bowyer**, **David Stremme**, **Martin Truex** Jr., and **J.J. Yeley**.
- Six of the seven Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year candidates qualified for the DIRECTV 500. **Brent Sherman** did not attempt to qualify. Yeley (18th) was the highest qualifying rookie contender for the fourth time this season.
- Six drivers failed to qualify for the DIRECTV 500: **Derrike Cope**, **Kevin Lepage**, **Kenny Wallace**, **Jimmy Spencer**, **Morgan Shepherd** and **Hermie Sadler**.