



Bud Pole Winner: Kasey Kahne

Ford 400 – Homestead-Miami Speedway Nov. 17, 2006

- **Kasey Kahne** won the Bud Pole for the Ford 400, lapping Homestead-Miami Speedway in 30.293 seconds at 178.259 mph. **Jamie McMurray** holds the track-qualifying record of 29.816 seconds, 181.111 mph set Nov. 14, 2003.
- This is Kahne's 12th career Bud Pole in 108 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races.
- This is his sixth Bud Pole and 20th top-10 start in 2006. He tied **Kurt Busch** for the most Bud Poles this season. Kahne will win the yearly Bud Pole Award based on the tie-breaker of two second-place starts as to Busch's one.
- This is Kahne's first Bud Pole and third top-10 start in three races at Homestead-Miami Speedway. His starts have all been third or better.
- Kahne became the seventh different Bud Pole winner in eight races at Homestead-Miami Speedway.
- **Scott Riggs** posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 30.300 seconds, 178.218 mph and will join Kahne on the front row for the Ford 400. He posted his first start better than 25th in three Homestead races.
- This is the 16th Bud Pole for **Dodge** in 2006. **Chevrolet** has 13 Bud Poles and **Ford** has five. Qualifying was canceled for the first race at Bristol and the second at Atlanta.
- **Kyle Busch** (third) has started fourth in his only other appearance at Homestead (2005). This is his best start since he won the Bud Pole at Phoenix in April.
- Elliott Sadler (fourth) has posted his first start better than 15th in eight Homestead races.
- **Jeff Burton** (fifth) has started from the top 10 just one other time in his eight races at Homestead.
- Four of the 10 Chase drivers qualified in the top 10: Kahne, Busch, Burton and **Kevin Harvick** (seventh). **Jeff Gordon** (12th), **Dale Earnhardt** (14th), **Jimmie Johnson** (15th), **Matt Kenseth** (19th), **Mark Martin** (26th) and **Denny Hamlin** (33rd) are the Chase drivers starting outside the top 10.
- Juan Pablo Montoya (29th) qualified for his career-first NASCAR NEXTEL Cup race.
- **Bill Elliott** used a past champion's provisional to make the field.
- The 56 drivers that entered the Ford 400 is the largest entry number of drivers to attempt to make a race since Daytona in February (58). **Morgan Shepherd** withdrew prior to qualifying.
- Thirteen drivers failed to qualify for the Ford 400: Ward Burton, Brandon Whitt, Casey Atwood, Kenny Wallace, Todd Kluever, David Ragan, Michael Waltrip, Mike Skinner, Derrike Cope, Kevin Lepage, Carl Long, Chad Chaffin and Shepherd.