



Bud Pole Winner: Kasey Kahne

Samsung/RadioShack 500 – Texas Motor Speedway April 7, 2006

- Kasey Kahne won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the Samsung/ RadioShack 500, lapping Texas Motor Speedway in 28.374 seconds at 190.315 mph. Bill Elliott holds the track-qualifying record of 27.803 seconds, 194.224 mph, set in April 2002.
- This is Kahne's eighth career Bud Pole in 79 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races.
- This is his second Bud Pole and fifth top-10 start in 2006.
- This is Kahne's first Bud Pole and third top-10 start, all top-threes in four NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. He became the eighth different Bud Pole winner at Texas.
- **J.J. Yeley** posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 28.515 seconds, 189.374 mph and will join Kahne on the front row for the Samsung/RadioShack 500. Yeley posted his career-best start in his 13th race. It is his fourth career top-10 start and his third in 2006.
- This is the third Bud Pole for **Dodge** in 2006. Chevrolet has two Bud Poles and Ford
 has one. Qualifying was canceled at Bristol.
- Mark Martin (third) posted his fourth top-10 starts in 2006 and his eighth in 11 races at Texas. This is his best starting position since he started second at California in September 2005.
- **Jeff Green** (fourth) posted his first start better than 14th this season and also his first better than 14th in six races at Texas. It is his best since he started third at Richmond in May 2004.
- **Greg Biffle** (fifth) posted his sixth top-10 start of the 2006 season, more than any other driver. It is his fourth top-10 start in five races at Texas.
- **Ryan Newman** (14th) has gone nine races without a Bud Pole, just the fourth time in his career that he has gone more than eight races without a Bud Pole.
- Brothers **Bobby** (10th) and **Terry Labonte** (30th), both had the possibility of using the past champion provisional but made the question moot when both made the race on time.
- **Derrike Cope** (38th) qualified for his first NASCAR NEXTEL Cup race since Martinsville in October 2005, and just his second since 2004. He will be the 54th driver to compete in at least one race this season.
- Five drivers failed to qualify for the Samsung/RadioShack 500: Brent Sherman,
 Chad Blount, Kenny Wallace, Chad Chaffin and Stanton Barrett.



