



## **Bud Pole Winner: Jeff Gordon**

Subway Fresh 500 – Phoenix International Raceway April 23, 2005

- Jeff Gordon won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the Subway Fresh 500, lapping Phoenix International Raceway in 26.931 seconds at 133.675 mph. Ryan Newman holds the track-qualifying record of 26.499 seconds, 135.854 mph, set Nov. 5, 2004.
- This is Gordon's 53rd career Bud Pole in 409 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races. Gordon posted his third top-10 start in 2005, all in the past four races.
- This is Gordon's first Bud Pole and sixth top-10 start in 13 races at Phoenix.
- There have been **11 different Bud Pole winners** in the **18** NASCAR NEXTEL Cup races at Phoenix. There have been six different Bud Pole winners this season.
- Ryan Newman and Rusty Wallace lead all other drivers, each with three Bud Poles at Phoenix. Geoffrey Bodine, Bill Elliott and Ken Schrader each have two Bud Poles at Phoenix.
- **Kurt Busch** posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 27.016 seconds, 133.254 mph and will join Gordon on the front row for the Subway Fresh 500. It is his third top-10 start in 2005. Busch has started from a top-10 starting position in two of his six races at Phoenix.
- This is the third Bud Pole for **Chevrolet** in 2005. **Dodge** also has three Bud Poles and **Ford** has two.
- **Greg Biffle** (third) posted his first start better than 23rd in three races at Phoenix and his sixth top-10 start this season.
- **Bobby Labonte** (fourth) scored his fifth top-10 start in 13 races at Phoenix, but his first since 2000. Labonte posted just his second top-10 start of 2005 both in the past three races.
- **Brian Vickers** (fifth) posted his third top-10 start in three races at Phoenix and his third of the season. Vickers had started second in his previous two races here.
- Three drivers failed to qualify for the Subway Fresh 500: Hermie Sadler, Brandon Ash and Steve Portnega.
- Only one NASCAR NEXTEL Cup race at Phoenix has been won from a front-row starting position. **Jeff Burton** started second and won in 1999.
- The race at Phoenix has been won from a top-10 starting position only **six of 17 times**.
- **Ricky Rudd** won the 1995 DuraLube 500 from the **29th-place starting position**, the furthest back a race winner has started at Phoenix.