



## **Bud Pole Winner: Ryan Newman**

UAW-Daimler Chrysler 400 – Las Vegas Motor Speedway March 11, 2005

- **Ryan Newman** won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the UAW-Daimler Chrysler 400, lapping Las Vegas Motor Speedway in 31.080 seconds at 173.745 mph. **Kasey Kahne** holds the track-qualifying record of 30.874 seconds, 174.904 mph, set April 26, 2002.
- This is Newman's **28th career Bud Pole** in 119 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races.
- This is Newman's first Bud Pole and fourth top-five start in five NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.
- Elliott Sadler posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 31.086 seconds, 173.712 mph and will join Newman on the front row for the UAW-Daimler Chrysler 400. It is Sadler's first top-10 start in seven races at Las Vegas. It is his first start better than 39th this season.
- This is the first Bud Pole for **Dodge** in 2005. **All three manufacturers** have **one Bud Pole** this season.
- This is the first Bud Pole for the Dodge Charger since **Richard Petty** won the Bud Pole at Ontario on Nov., 20, 1977.
- **Greg Biffle** (third) has started from the top-10 in both of his NASCAR NEXTEL Cup races at Las Vegas.
- **Scott Riggs** (fourth) started 15th here in 2004, his only other start at Las Vegas. He had started 12th in each of the first two races this season.
- **Kurt Busch** (fifth) posted It is his fifth consecutive top-10 and fourth straight top-five start in his six races at Las Vegas.
- Travis Kvapil (sixth) was the highest qualifying rookie.
- **Kyle Busch** (10th) joined Kvapil and Eric McClure (41<sup>st</sup>) as all three rookie candidates made the field for the first time this season. Busch started 18th and finished 41st here in 2004, in his series debut.
- **Kevin Harvick**'s time was disallowed. He will start 42nd on Sunday.
- There have been **six different Bud Pole winners** in the eight NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series qualifying sessions at Las Vegas since 1998. Newman joins **Dale Jarrett** (1998 and 2001), **Bobby Labonte** (1999 and 2003), **Ricky Rudd** (2000), **Todd Bodine** (2002) and **Kasey Kahne** (2004).
- Only **one of the seven** NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races at Las Vegas has been won from a top-10 starting position. **Mark Martin** won the inaugural race in 1998 from the seventh starting position. Since then the best starting position of a race winner was 11th by **Jeff Burton** in 2000.
- The deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Las Vegas was 25th by **Matt Kenseth** in 2004.