



## **Bud Pole Winner: Elliott Sadler**

AllState 400 at the Brickyard – Indianapolis Motor Speedway Aug. 11, 2005

- Elliot Sadler won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the AllState 400 at the Brickyard, lapping Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 48.882 seconds at 184.116 mph. Casey Mears holds the track-qualifying record of 48.311 seconds, 186.293 mph, set Aug. 7, 2004.
- This is Sadler's fourth career Bud Pole in 234 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races. This is his second Bud Pole and 11th top-10 start this season.
- This is Sadler's second top-10 start in seven NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. He started third and finished third here in 2004.
- Sadler became the fourth repeat Bud Pole winner this season.
- **Jeremy Mayfield** posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 49.166 seconds, 183.053 mph and will join Sadler on the front row for the AllState 400 at the Brickyard. He has started from a top-10 starting position in just three of his 11 races at Indianapolis. Mayfield tied his season-best start set at Texas with his ninth top-10 start of 2005.
- This is the third Bud Pole for **Ford** in 2005. **Chevrolet** has nine Bud Poles and **Dodge** has eight. Qualifying was canceled at Dover in June.
- **Michael Waltrip** (third) posted his fourth top-10 start in 12 races at Indianapolis. Waltrip posted his third top-10 start in 2005.
- **Kasey Kahne** (fourth) scored his first top-10 start in two races at Indianapolis. Kahne posted his 10th top-10 start in 2005.
- Brian Vickers (fifth) posted his second top-10 start in two races at Indianapolis.
- **Bobby Hamilton** (35th) qualified for his first NASCAR NEXTEL Cup races since Homestead in 2002.
- Nine drivers failed to qualify for the AllState 400 at the Brickyard: **Kevin Lepage**, **Tony Raines**, **Mike Garvey**, **Stuart Kirby**, **Mike Wallace**, **P.J. Jones**, **Morgan Shepherd**, **Kenny Wallace** and **Jimmy Spencer**.
- There have been **nine different Bud Pole winners** in the 12 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races at Indianapolis.
- The furthest back a race winner has started at Indianapolis Motor Speedway was **27th** by **Jeff Gordon** in 2001.