



Bud Pole Winner: Ryan Newman

Samsung/RadioShack 500 – Texas Motor Speedway April 15, 2005

- Ryan Newman won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the Samsung/ RadioShack 500, lapping Texas Motor Speedway in 28.040 seconds at 192.582 mph. Bill Elliott holds the track-qualifying record of 27.803 seconds, 194.224 mph, set April 5, 2002.
- This is Newman's 30th career Bud Pole in 123 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races.
- This is Newman's first Bud Pole and second top-10 start in four NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series races at Texas Motor Speedway. His previous best start here was third in 2003.
- This moves Newman to 22nd on the all-time NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole list.
- **Jeremy Mayfield** posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 28.062 seconds, 192.431 mph and will join Newman on the front row for the Samsung/RadioShack 500. It is Mayfield's fourth top-10 start in 2005 and his third top-10 start in nine races at Texas.
- This is the third Bud Pole for **Dodge** in 2005. **Chevrolet** and **Ford** each have two.
- **Kasey Kahne** (third) posted his second top-10 start in two races at Texas. He also started third here in 2004. It is his fourth top-10 start in 2005.
- **Ricky Rudd** (fourth) posted his first top-10 start in 2005. It is his fourth top-10 start in nine races at Texas.
- **Greg Biffle** (fifth) sixth top-10 start in 2005. His only start outside the top 10 was 23rd at Daytona. It is his second top-10 start at Texas both top-fives.
- **Bill Elliott** (15th) and **Terry Labonte** (43rd) each qualified for their third NASCAR NEXTEL Cup race this season.
- **Boris Said** (40th) qualified for his fifth career oval-track race and his second race this season. Said has also competed in nine road-course races since making his NASCAR NEXTEL Cup debut at Watkins Glen in 1999.
- Three drivers failed to qualify for the Samsung/RadioShack 500: **Kevin Lepage**, **Stanton Barrett** and **Randy LaJoie**.
- There have been **six different Bud Pole winners** at Texas Motor Speedway. **Bobby Labonte** (2003 and 2004) is the only repeat Bud Pole winner. Qualifying was canceled by weather for the inaugural race (1997).
- No NASCAR NEXTEL Cup race at Texas has been won from a front-row starting
 position but six have been won from the top 10 five from the top five.
- **Six of the eight** NASCAR NEXTEL Cup races at Texas have been won from a starting position of seventh or better. **Matt Kenseth** started 31st in route to his victory there in the 2002 Samsung/RadioShack 500, the deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Texas.



