



Any additional media assistance will gladly be provided by NASCAR Statistical Services by contacting Len Thacher at NASCARSTATS@aol.com or 703-629-3148 OR - the NASCAR Public Relations Department at 386-253-0611. Thank you for your continued support of NASCAR Nextel Cup racing.

Today's Winner: Jeff GordonTeam:DuPont Chevrolet

- Jeff Gordon won the 47th running of the Daytona 500, scoring his 70th NASCAR NEXTEL Cup victory in his 402nd career start.
- Gordon became just **the fifth driver** to win three or more Daytona 500's. He joins Richard Petty (7), Cale Yarborough (4), Bobby Allison (3) and Dale Jarrett (3).
- Gordon has won **six races** at Daytona, including the last two.
- Gordon has won **three of the last four restrictor-plate races**: (Talladega-April 2004, Daytona July 2004 and Daytona February 2005).
- It was his **14th top-10 finish** in 25 races at Daytona.
- Gordon has won at least won race each each season 1994 2005, 12 consecutive years.
- Team owner Rick Hendrick has won at least won race each season 1986 2005, 20 consecutive years.

Notebook Items

- Four of the top-five finishers in the 2005 Daytona 500 finished in the final top five in the 2004 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup point standings. They were Jeff Gordon, 2004 Champion Kurt Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jimmie Johnson.
- Kurt Busch (second) tied his best finish at Daytona set previously here in 2003.
- Dale Earnhardt Jr. (third) scored his fourth straight top-10 finish at Daytona.
- Scott Riggs (fourth) scored his career-best finish.
- **Jimmie Johnson** (fifth) scored his third straight top-five finish at Daytona. Johnson has scored five top-10 finishes in seven races at Daytona.
- Mark Martin (sixth) has been running at the finish in 23 consecutive races, the longest current streak.
- **Travis Kvapil** (19th) was the highest finishing Raybestos Rookie-of-the Year contender in the 2005 Daytona 500.
- Matt Kenseth (42nd) ended a 71-race streak of ranking in the top 10 in the NASCAR NEXTEL point standings that ran from Race No. 4 at Atlanta in 2003 thru Homestead in November 2004.
- Only once since 1977 has the winner of the Daytona 500 gone on to win the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup championship in the same year: Jeff Gordon (1997). Three other drivers who won the Daytona 500 also became the NASCAR champion in the same year: Lee Petty (1959), Richard Petty (1964, 1971, 1974 and 1979) and Cale Yarborough (1977).
- The NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Leader Bonus will be worth \$20,000 at California Speedway.
- The race leader at the halfway point in the Daytona 500 has failed to win in the last 13 years. **Tony Stewart** was the leader at lap 100 in the 2005. The last driver to lead at halfway and win was **Davey Allison** in 1992.
- **Tony Stewart** led the most laps in the last two Daytona 500s. He led 107 of the 200 laps raced today. The last driver to lead the most laps in two consecutive 500's was Bobby Allison in 1981 and 1982.

Copyright © 2005 NASCAR. All rights reserved