Sunday, February 5, 2023

Entry List: The Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey

The start of the 2021 Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey
Will it be a clean start for this year’s Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey? Image courtesy of Joe Skibinski / Penske Entertainment

The final race of the 2022 season for the NTT IndyCar Series has arrived, with a champion to be crowned at this weekend’s Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

A field of 26 entries will do battle at the 2.238-mile, 11-turn natural terrain road course, with Team Penske’s Will Power coming in as the championship leader.

Colton Herta has driven the No. 26 Andretti Autosport Honda to victory at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca each of the last two years. No driver has completed a three-peat at the track since Bobby Rahal won four consecutive from 1984-87.

Firestone will provide six sets of primary (black sidewall) tires, and four sets of the alternate (red sidewall) compound. (Note: A seventh set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie driver.)

Additionally, there will be 150 seconds of Push-to-Pass available for the 95-lap race, which will allow a maximum burst of up to 15 seconds per use. The boost is not available on the initial start or restart unless it is the final two laps or three minutes of a timed race.

The 16th race of the season will begin at 2:40 p.m. ET on Sunday, with live coverage on NBC, Peacock, Universo, the IndyCar Radio Network and IndyCar Live!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Stay Connected


Latest Articles