Wednesday, September 20, 2023

Kyle Larson, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Among NASCAR Drivers Competing in BC39

Kyle Larson Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Chase Briscoe Sheldon Creed BC39
Kyle Larson, Ricky Stenhouse Jr, Chase Briscoe, and Sheldon Creed are among the seven drivers that will compete in the BC39 this week at The Dirt Track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a 39-lap event dedicated to the legacy of Bryan Clauson. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

On Wednesday and Thursday, one of the most anticipated dirt Midget events of the year will take place at The Dirt Track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with the fourth running of the BC39.

The 39-lap event, held on a quarter-mile dirt track inside turn three of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, is a race that honors the legacy of the late Bryan Clauson, bringing awareness to Driven2SaveLives, an Indiana Donor Network program.

- Advertisement -

With a $15,000 payout to the race winner, the BC39 holds the honor of being the largest payout in Midget racing.

Kyle Larson, the defending champion of the NASCAR Cup Series, is the defending winner of the BC39, winning last year’s event in thrilling fashion over Thomas Meseruall and Justin Grant.

This season, Larson – driving the No. 86 for CB Industries – is one of seven NASCAR-related drivers to be entered in the event, as he looks to defend his victory from the quarter-mile dirt track at IMS.

JJ Yeley – who primarily competes in the NASCAR Xfinity Series for MBM Motorsports — will be piloting the No. 06 entry in the mid-week event, owned by Glenn Styres Racing, an organization that also competes in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Chase Briscoe will also be making the mid-week trip to Indianapolis to compete in the event, with Stenhouse in the No. 08 for Dave Mac Dalby Motorsports and Briscoe in the No. 5 for Chase Briscoe Racing.

After racing on Wednesday and Thursday, Larson, Yeley, Stenhouse, and Briscoe will have to make the trip to Michigan International Speedway for this weekend’s NASCAR Cup Series event.

In a similar boat is Sheldon Creed, a NASCAR Xfinity Series driver for Richard Childress Racing, who will be getting behind the wheel of the No. 74 Abacus Racing entry for the BC39.

Also scheduled to run the BC39 this week is Ryan Newman, who will leave North Wilkesboro Speedway – where he captured the win in Tuesday’s Tour Type Modified event – to make it to Indy for Wednesday’s heat races.

Coverage of Wednesday’s heat races will begin at 7:00 p.m. ET on FloRacing, with the Stoops Pursuit taking place at 9:00 p.m. ET. On Thursday, racing begins at 7:30 p.m. ET on FloRacing.

Competing in the BC39 on Wednesday and Thursday:

  • No. 06 – JJ Yeley – Glenn Styres Racing
    • Starting seventh of eight in Heat #9.
  • No. 08 – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – Dave Mac Dalby Motorsports
    • Starting eighth of nine in Heat #2.
  • No. 5 – Chase Briscoe – Chase Briscoe Racing
    • Starting first of eight in Heat #9
  • No. 39 – Ryan Newman – Clauson Marshall Racing
    • Starting first of nine in Heat #8
  • No. 74 – Sheldon Creed – Abacus Racing
    • Starting fifth of nine in Heat #3
  • No. 86 – Kyle Larson – CB Industries
    • Starting ninth of nine in Heat #3

Full Heat Race Starting Lineups

Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles