Wednesday, November 22, 2023

Stenhouse, Buescher, Suarez Advance to All-Star Race, Erik Jones Secures Fan Vote Win

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. went on to win the first stage of the 2022 All-Star Open, advancing him to his fourth career NASCAR All-Star Race.. PC: JTG Daugherty Racing | Twitter

After Sunday’s 50-lap All-Star Open, the starting field for the 2022 NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway has been set.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – driving the No. 47 Chevrolet Camaro for JTG Daugherty Racing — led all 20 laps of the race’s first stage, benefitting from All-Star Open polesitter Tyler Reddick having to drop to the rear at the start of the event.

- Advertisement -

Sunday will mark Stenhouse’s fourth appearance in the NASCAR All-Star Race, and his first with JTG Daugherty Racing. In three prior All-Star starts, the Olive Branch, Mississippi-native has a best finish of 11th.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will start 21st in the NASCAR All-Star Race.

Chris Buescher will join teammate Brad Keselowski in the 2022 NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas, after winning the race’s second stage. PC: RFK Racing | Twitter

Chris Buescher – driving the No. 17 RFK Racing Ford Mustang — was able to advance into the NASCAR All-Star Race by winning the race’s second 20-lap stage, giving the Prosper, Texas-native his second All-Star appearance.

In Buescher’s prior All-Star appearance with JTG Daugherty Racing in 2017, the 29-year-old recorded a 17th-place result, after being eliminated late in the event.

Chris Buescher will start 22nd in the NASCAR All-Star Race.

Daniel Suarez won the NASCAR All-Star Open at Texas Motor Speedway, advancing him into his third NASCAR All-Star Race. PC: Trackhouse Racing | Twitter

Daniel Suarez and Trackhouse Racing would then dominate the final stage of the NASCAR All-Star Open, providing the Monterrey, Mexico-native with his third appearance in the NASCAR All-Star Race.

In his two All-Star appearances, Suarez has a best finish of second-place, coming up just short of Kevin Harvick for the 2018 NASCAR All-Star Race at Charlotte.

Daniel Suarez will start 23rd in the NASCAR All-Star Race.

Erik Jones didn’t advance to the NASCAR All-Star Race through the All-Star Open, but rather by virtue of winning the Fan Vote. PC: Petty GMS | Twitter

Erik Jones wasn’t fortunate enough to advance to the NASCAR All-Star Race through a stage of the NASCAR All-Star Open, finishing the final stage in fifth place. However, the fans have spoken, putting the Petty GMS Motorsports driver into the 24-car field for Sunday’s event.

Jones’ NASCAR All-Star Race appearance tonight, is the third of his NASCAR Cup Series career. His two prior results, both for Joe Gibbs Racing, have resulted in finishes outside the top-10, a streak he’s looking to break tonight.

Erik Jones will start 24th in the NASCAR All-Star Race.

Austin Dillon finished in the runner-up spot in the NASCAR All-Star Open, with Justin Haley, Corey LaJoie, and Erik Jones rounding out the top five. With the exception of Jones, those drivers will not compete in tonight’s All-Star event.

Ty Dillon, Cole Custer, Todd Gilliland, Cody Ware, Garrett Smithley, and BJ McLeod were running at the end of the All-Star Open, finishing sixth through 11th.

Tyler Reddick – arguably one of the favorites to advance to the NASCAR All-Star Race — was forced to start at the rear of the field, due to unapproved adjustments, but won’t advance further, after crashing in the final stage of the event.

Video: Tyler Reddick Loses Control, Harrison Burton Gets Collected in Final Stage of Open

Landon Cassill suffered a similar fate, crashing at the mid-way point of the second stage of the NASCAR All-Star Open, after electing to stay on the track after the first stage break.

Video: Landon Cassill Crashes Near Mid-Way Point Of Open Stage 2

Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow us


Latest Articles