Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Will Power Wins Pole for Indy GP, Inches Closer to Mario Andretti’s All-Time Record

Will Power sits on pit-road at the Barber Motorsports Park.
Will Power rolled into the month of May with consistency and turned it into a pole position for Saturday’s GMR Grand Prix. Image courtesy of Joe Skibinski / Penske Entertainment

Will Power captured the pole for tomorrow’s GMR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

The 41-year-old Australian drove his No. 12 Team Penske Chevrolet to record a lap time of 1m0.7664s around the track where he is tied for most victories with three.

It’s the sixth career pole on the IMS Road Course for Power, which ups his total pole positions to 64. He is now three away from tying Mario Andretti, the all-time pole winner in the NTT IndyCar Series.

“That’s the fun of this series, it’s so tight,” Power said, via Peacock. “You get the poles these days, you know you’ve done a really good job. The team’s done a great job. Super stoked, been a long time since I have had a pole on a road course. Worked really hard for that one.

“Yeah, I mean I feel so privileged to have got so close to him (Mario Andretti). I never thought I’d get there, but yes three away, obviously an absolute legend of the sport. It would be such an honor to match him or surpass him. To be up there with names like Mario Andretti and AJ Foyt is something I wouldn’t have imagined when I started my career.”

Alex Palou will start alongside on the front row, he was nipped by Power in the closing seconds of the Fast Six. The Chip Ganassi Racing pilot was 0.0426s off the top spot.

Josef Newgarden will roll off third sitting 0.0679s slower than his Penske teammate. Conor Daly has a breath of fresh air with his best qualifying run of the season, starting fourth.

“This team has done a lot of work for me,” Daly said, via Peacock. “I don’t think they have gotten the credit they deserve so far this year. We’ve not had a great to start to the season, but there’s a lot of it that’s not been their fault at all or our fault at all as a group. I think this is where we want to be moving forward and its a great way to start during May.”

A pair of Arrow McLaren SP drivers, Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist round out the Fast Six competitors with fifth and sixth.

It was a calm Round 2 session and a pair rookies shined as Callum Ilott and Christian Lundgaard grabbed seventh and eighth. Ilott put together two straight Round 2 appearances, besting the eliminated drivers in his eighth career race.

“Well, I knew it was going to be close, but yeah a bit of a shame with that,” Ilott said, via Peacock. “Overall, that was a much more rewarding run. I tried everything, honestly I think we made a mega effort to do that.”

Scott McLaughlin, starting 11th, was eliminated in Round 2 for the first time this season. The No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet pilot is between the subtle rivalry of Romain Grosjean and Graham Rahal, who start 10th and 12th, nose-to-tail with each other.

The Group 1 and 2 opening round had some surprises being left out of advancing. Defending race winner Rinus VeeKay, along with Scott Dixon, Colton Herta, Alexander Rossi and Marcus Ericsson were all eliminated and will start no better than 13th.

The Andretti Autosport teammates, Herta and Rossi, both reached Round 2 in the last two race weekends. That includes Herta’s pole at Long Beach and Rossi having a pair of fifth-place starting spots.

It’s three consecutive race weekends that Dixon has not made it to Round 2.

Up Next: Warm-up on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. ET, with live coverage on Peacock, IndyCar Live and the IndyCar Radio Network.

PositionCar No.DriverLap TimeDiff. in Round
112Will Power1:09.7664
210Alex Palou1:09.8090 -0.0426
32Josef Newgarden1:09.8343 -0.0679
420Conor Daly1:09.9063 -0.1399
55Pato O'Ward1:10.0546 -0.2882
67Felix Rosenqvist1:10.0605 -0.2941
777Callum Ilott (R)1:09.6530-0.2416
830Christian Lundgaard (R)1:09.6594-0.2480
945Jack Harvey1:09.6899-0.2785
1028Romain Grosjean1:09.7100-0.2986
113Scott McLaughlin1:09.7847-0.3733
1215Graham Rahal1:10.2950-0.8836
1351Takuma Sato1:09.8239-0.2695
1426Colton Herta1:09.8527 -0.3819
1521Rinus VeeKay1:09.9550-0.4006
1627Alexander Rossi1:09.9178-0.4470
1729Devlin DeFrancesco (R)1:10.1306-0.5762
188Marcus Ericsson1:09.9294-0.4586
1906Helio Castroneves1:10.1417-0.5873
2060Simon Pagenaud1:09.9717-0.5009
219Scott Dixon1:10.1694-0.6150
2214Kyle Kirkwood (R)1:10.1954-0.7246
236Juan Pablo Montoya1:10.7610-1.2066
2418David Malukas (R)1:10.4755-1.0047
2511Tatiana Calderon (R)1:11.0020-1.4476
264Dalton Kellett1:10.7187-1.2479
2748Jimmie Johnson1:11.4599-1.9891
Matt Narváez
Matt Narváez
Matthew is a NASCAR contributor apart of the team. A fan of racing since 2011, he has had passion for sports journalism since 2015 and is a current Mass Communications student at the University of South Florida.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Stay Connected


Latest Articles