Monday, March 20, 2023

Kenseth, Brewer, Foyt Join NASCAR HOF Ballot, Class of 2023 Nominees Announced

PC: NASCAR Hall of Fame | Twitter

On Monday, NASCAR officially announced the 15 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s class of 2023, a group that will make up the first Hall of Fame ballot in two years, following the adverse effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Matt Kenseth and Tim Brewer have been added to the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s ‘Modern Era Ballot’ for the first time, joining a list of 13 accomplished individuals previously placed on the ballot.

Kenseth, the 2003 champion of the NASCAR Winston Cup Series, has amassed 697 starts at NASCAR’s top level, including a total of 39 victories, captured for championship-winning organizations Joe Gibbs Racing and Roush Fenway Racing.

Brewer, a crew chief in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series for Junior Johnson, is a two-time champion of the series, leading Cale Yarborough and Darrell Waltrip to their 1978 and 1981 championships, respectively. In over 700 starts, Brewer has 53 wins in the Cup Series.

Joining the ‘Pioneer Ballot’ for the first time are AJ Foyt and Sam Ard, joining Banjo Matthews, Hershel McGriff, and Ralph Moody as the composition of the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s five-person selection.

Foyt, who has competed in many forms of motorsports throughout his career, captured seven victories in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1972 edition of the Daytona 500. Other accomplishments for Foyt, includes a record-tying four Indianapolis 500 wins.

Ard, who was originally nominated for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020, was one of the mainstays in the NASCAR Budweiser Late Model Sportsman Series – now known as the NASCAR Xfinity Series — in the early 1980s, capturing back-to-back championships in 1983 and 1984.

Lesa France Kennedy, NASCAR’s Executive Vice Chair, has been added to the ballot for the Landmark Award, joining Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins, Mike Helton, and Dr. Joseph Mattioli.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Voting Panel will meet in person to discuss and vote for the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023, as well as the winner of the Landmark Award. This discussion and subsequent vote will take place on Wednesday, May 4.

Mike Burch (Speedway Motorsports), Kelly Crandall (NMPA President), Ryan McGee (ESPN), Bob Pockrass (FOX Sports), Cathy Rice (South Boston Speedway), and Chip Wile (NASCAR) will join the 62-person panel this year. Due to the HOF having no 2022 class, both Kyle Larson and Chase Elliott will join the panel as one-time voters.

‘Modern Era Ballot’:

  • Neil Bonnett
  • Tim Brewer
  • Jeff Burton
  • Carl Edwards
  • Harry Gant
  • Harry Hyde
  • Matt Kenseth
  • Larry Phillips
  • Ricky Rudd
  • Kirk Shelmerdine

‘Pioneer Ballot’:

  • Sam Ard
  • AJ Foyt
  • Banjo Matthews
  • Hershel McGriff
  • Ralph Moody

‘Landmark Award’:

  • Janet Guthrie
  • Alvin Hawkins
  • Mike Helton
  • Lesa France Kennedy
  • Dr. Joseph Mattioli
Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles