Saturday, April 1, 2023

Grant Enfinger Paces Opening Practice in Return to GMS Racing at Daytona

PC: GMS Racing | Twitter

Welcome back to GMS Racing, Grant Enfinger.

The six-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series winner paced the series’ only practice session of the weekend at Daytona International Speedway, getting his return to GMS Racing started with a bang.

Enfinger – driving the No. 23 Chevrolet Silverado — posted the fastest lap of the session while in a pack, recording a time of 48.117 seconds (187.044mph). Derek Kraus was second, with Zane Smith, Tanner Gray, and Hailie Deegan rounding out the top-five.

Riley Herbst, Austin Wayne Self, Jesse Little, Johnny Sauter, and John Hunter Nemechek rounded out the top-10 in the 50-minute session.

The series’ first practice of 2022 was slowed dramatically by three separate stoppages, two of which were related to on-track incidents.

Just five minutes into the opening practice, Jason Kitzmiller – attempting to make his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut in a second CR7 Motorsports entry — crashed exiting the tri-oval.

Kitzmiller’s attempted debut wouldn’t even make it to qualifying, as the organization confirmed to that the No. 97 would withdraw from the NextEra Energy 250.

Jason Kitzmiller, No. 97 CR7 Motorsports Team Done For Speedweeks After Practice Crash

Not long after Kitzmiller’s accident was cleaned up and the track returned to green-flag condition, Bret Holmes’s No. 32 Chevrolet Silverado cut a tire, sending the 2020 ARCA Menards Series champion spinning in turn two.

Qualifying for the NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona International Speedway will take place on Friday, February 18 at 3:00 pm / ET on FOX Sports 1. The top-31 in speed will lock into the field, with the remaining five spots being handed out through owner-point provisionals.

For more information on qualifying and who is in danger of missing the series’ season-opening event visit’s ‘Making The Field’ story:

Making The Field: 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona

2022 NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona – Practice Results:

PsCarDriverBest TimeDiffLaps
123Grant Enfinger48.1178
219Derek Kraus48.131-0.0149
338Zane Smith48.136-0.01912
415Tanner Gray48.181-0.0646
51Hailie Deegan48.215-0.0987
617Riley Herbst(i)48.233-0.11612
722Austin Wayne Self48.317-0.2009
802Jesse Little48.391-0.27414
947Johnny Sauter48.443-0.32611
104John Hunter Nemechek48.465-0.34811
1191Colby Howard48.566-0.44911
1298Christian Eckes48.615-0.49814
1366Ty Majeski48.635-0.51815
1499Ben Rhodes48.696-0.57913
1588Matt Crafton48.724-0.6079
1652Stewart Friesen48.829-0.7125
1744Kris Wright48.852-0.73514
1840Dean Thompson 48.871-0.75416
1945Lawless Alan 48.874-0.75713
2042Carson Hocevar48.875-0.75811
2128Bryan Dauzat48.886-0.76915
2233Jason White49.510-1.3939
2361Chase Purdy49.738-1.6217
2416Tyler Ankrum49.784-1.6676
2524Jack Wood 50.203-2.0867
2625Matt Dibenedetto50.262-2.1458
2718Chandler Smith50.282-2.1657
2812Spencer Boyd50.429-2.3124
2997Jason Kitzmiller50.512-2.3951
3075Parker Kligerman50.596-2.4795
319Blaine Perkins 50.697-2.5804
3251Corey Heim 50.699-2.5828
3384Clay Greenfield50.812-2.6955
3446Matt Jaskol50.861-2.7446
357Austin Hill50.902-2.7853
3610Jennifer Jo Cobb51.066-2.9495
373Jordan Anderson51.159-3.0428
3820Danny Bohn51.432-3.3154
3930Tate Fogleman51.435-3.3186
4056Timmy Hill52.062-3.9452
4143Thad Moffitt53.228-5.1117
4232Bret HolmesNO TIME----
Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles