Friday, June 9, 2023

Ryan Blaney Paces Wednesday Next Gen Test at Charlotte With a 182 MPH Lap

Team Penske’s Ryan Blaney was the fastest driver in Wednesday’s Next Gen test at the Charlotte Motor Speedway oval. The session featured many different horsepower packages and aerodynamic packages.

At the time of the fastest lap, Blaney was using the 670 horsepower package with a six inch offset spoiler.

Blaney’s fast time was a 29.668 second lap, which is actually faster than Kyle Larson’s pole at the Coca-Cola 600 last season. The lap equated to a 182.014 mph lap.

TrackHouse Racing’s Ross Chastain was second in the session, while Kurt Busch, Alex Bowman and Tyler Reddick rounded out the top-five fastest on the day.

Reddick, while fastest at the time, spun coming off of turn four and slammed his No. 8 Chevrolet into the sand barrels at the end of pit road.

Video: Tyler Reddick Impacts Pit Road Barrels After Spin in Next Gen Test at Charlotte

In addition to Reddick’s crash, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. also went for a spin in the early portion of the session, while running in a pack next to Aric Almirola.

Video: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Spins in Wednesday Next Gen Test at Charlotte

The NASCAR Cup Series teams will return to Charlotte Motor Speedway on Friday, December 17th at 8AM ET for another test date for the Next Gen car. That test will also conclude at 4PM ET.

Here are the full results from Wednesday’s test session:

PosCarDriverBest LaptimeDiffBest SpeedManufacturer
112Ryan Blaney29.668--182.014 mphFord
299Ross Chastain29.671-0.003181.996 mphChevrolet
345Kurt Busch29.831-0.163181.020 mphToyota
49Alex Bowman29.839-0.171180.971 mphChevrolet
58Tyler Reddick29.848-0.180180.917 mphChevrolet
624William Byron29.851-0.183180.898 mphChevrolet
747Ricky Stenhouse Jr.29.851-0.183180.898 mphChevrolet
819Martin Truex Jr.29.936-0.268180.385 mphToyota
96Brad Keselowski29.973-0.305180.162 mphFord
1010Aric Almirola29.984-0.316180.096 mphFord
1142Erik Jones30.022-0.354179.868 mphChevrolet
1218Kyle Busch30.053-0.385179.683 mphToyota
137Corey LaJoie30.059-0.391179.647 mphChevrolet
1431Justin Haley30.096-0.428179.426 mphChevrolet
152Austin Cindric30.161-0.493179.039 mphFord
1614Chase Briscoe30.327-0.659178.059 mphFord
1721Harrison Burton30.336-0.668178.006 mphFord
1838Todd Gilliland30.370-0.702177.807 mphFord
Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles