Thursday, December 8, 2022

10 Crew Chiefs Fined Following Post-Race Lug Nut Penalties at Homestead

HOMESTEAD, FLORIDA – FEBRUARY 28: Cars race as the sun sets during the NASCAR Cup Series Dixie Vodka 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on February 28, 2021 in Homestead, Florida. (Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images)

Following this weekend’s NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR Xfinity Series events at Homestead-Miami Speedway, a total of 10 crew chiefs have been handed monetary penalties by NASCAR, after their vehicles failed to have five properly secured lug nuts during the weekly post-race lug check.

Section TIRES AND WHEELS: “All tire(s)/wheel(s) and all five lug nuts must be installed in a safe and secure manner during the Event.”

— NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR Xfinity Series Rule Book

Randall Burnett, James Small, Ben Beshore, Alan Gustafson, Philip Surgen and Michael Shiplett were the six NASCAR Cup Series crew chiefs that received a $10,000 fine from NASCAR following the conclusion of Sunday’s event. The six affected cars finished second (Reddick), third (Truex), 10th (Busch), 14th (Elliott), 17th (Chastain) and 23rd (Custer) respectively in the Dixie Vodka 400.

In the NASCAR Xfinity Series, Taylor Moyer, Jason Trinchere, Jeff Meendering and Mark Setzer were the four NASCAR Xfinity Series crew chiefs to be fined $5,000 by NASCAR, following the conclusion of Saturday Night’s event. The four affected cars finished second (Jones), ninth (Clements), 10th (Berry) and 14th (Allmendinger) respectively in the Contender Boats 250.

As is standard for NASCAR’s post-race disqualification procedure, no further action was taken against Tyler Reddick and Our Motorsports’ No. 23 Chevrolet Camaro.

Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Stay Connected


Latest Articles