Skip to content

Chase Elliott Holds Off Denny Hamlin For Stage 2 Win at Las Vegas

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – SEPTEMBER 27: Chase Elliott, driver of the #9 Unifirst Chevrolet, stands on the grid prior to the NASCAR Cup Series South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 27, 2020 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Chase Elliott has gained a Stage Win after he held off Denny Hamlin in Stage 2 of Sunday night’s NASCAR Cup Series South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Elliott gained the lead on lap 92 from Hamlin and after a long green-flag pit cycle, Elliott re-assumed the lead at lap 145. He would lead the final 16 laps of the Stage.

The driver of the No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet now has 70 laps led on the night, more than anyone in the field heading into the final Stage of the race.

Behind Elliott and Hamlin was Alex Bowman, who has had a solid run in this race.

Martin Truex Jr. looked a bit more solid in Stage 2 than he did in Stage 1 as he finished fourth.

Ryan Blaney capped off the top-five finishers in the Stage.

Austin Dillon, Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, Matt DiBenedetto and William Byron rounded out the top-10 finishers in Stage 2.

Joey Logano, who had to pit after sustaining damage during a three-wide battle for the lead with Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin, was the lowest finishing Playoff contender in the Stage in 27th. Logano is currently one lap down.

Video: Joey Logano, Kyle Busch Receive Damage After Denny Hamlin Goes Three-Wide For Lead

Tyler Reddick slapped the wall on the final lap of the Stage and has dropped to 32nd, four laps off the pace.

Stage and Playoff Points Awarded in Stage 2:

Finish Driver Stage Points Playoff Points
1 Chase Elliott 10 1
2 Denny Hamlin 9 0
3 Alex Bowman 8 0
4 Martin Truex Jr. 7 0
5 Ryan Blaney 6 0
6 Austin Dillon 5 0
7 Kevin Harvick 4 0
8 Clint Bowyer 3 0
9 Matt DiBenedetto 2 0
10 William Byron 1 0

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: