Skip to content

Chase Briscoe Defeats Chastain and Sieg in Epic Battle For Stage 1 Win in Las Vegas

(Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Early in Stage 1 of Saturday night’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Alsco 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, it appeared that Austin Cindric would go on to win the Stage as he had a fast car. However, in the end it was a three-man race between Chase Briscoe, Ross Chastain and Ryan Sieg for the Stage Win and the ever-important Playoff Point.

After an incredible 15-or-so lap battle for the Stage Win, Briscoe emerged as the winner as he got around Chastain With eight laps left in Stage 1.

Chastain would slap the wall with a couple of laps left in the Stage while attempting to apply pressure to Briscoe, but Chastain would hang on for the runner-up spot in Stage 1.

Sieg was the surprise of the Stage as he looked like he had a legit shot at the Stage win, and worked his way from 12th to third in the opening stage. Sieg, who has a technical alliance with Richard Childress Racing, is utilizing a new generation RCR chassis with a brand new ECR motor. He could be a real threat in this race.

Noah Gragson, a Las Vegas-native, finished fourth in Stage 1 and he was followed by Anthony Alfredo in fifth.

Justin Haley ended the Stage in sixth.

Cindric, after leading the opening 10 laps of the event, faded to finish seventh in Stage 1.

Daniel Hemric, Brandon Jones and Riley Herbst rounded out the top-10 finishers in the Stage.

Brandon Brown was the only Playoff driver who finished outside the top-15 in Stage 1 as he finished 18th.

Stage and Playoff Points Awarded in Stage 1:

Finish Driver Stage Points Playoff Points
1 Chase Briscoe 10 1
2 Ross Chastain 9 0
3 Ryan Sieg 8 0
4 Noah Gragson 7 0
5 Anthony Alfredo 6 0
6 Justin Haley 5 0
7 Austin Cindric 4 0
8 Daniel Hemric 3 0
9 Brandon Jones 2 0
10 Riley Herbst 1 0

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: