Skip to content

Brett Moffitt Holds off Austin Hill For Stage 1 Win in Truck Race at Darlington

DARLINGTON, SOUTH CAROLINA – SEPTEMBER 06: Brett Moffitt, driver of the #23 GMS Fabrication Chevrolet, and Sheldon Creed, driver of the #2 Chevy Accessories Chevrolet, lead the field to start the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series South Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Darlington Raceway on September 06, 2020 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by Chris Keane/Getty Images)

Brett Moffitt may not have a race win in the 2020 NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series season, yet, but he has made Stage Wins a common occurrence. In Sunday’s South Carolina Education Lottery 200, Moffitt held off Austin Hill on the final lap to score his fifth Stage Win of the year.

Moffitt’s five Stage Wins ranks him the top among drivers vying for Truck Series points in 2020.

Hill, the point leader, made one move to the inside of Moffitt in turns three and four as a last ditch effort to win the Stage, but settled for second.

Sheldon Creed, who started first, finished third in Stage 1, while Ben Rhodes and David Ragan capped of the top-five finishers.

Ragan, who started dead-last in 34th, moved inside the top-20 by the competition yellow on lap 20. Under this caution, Ragan took just two tires to gain track position.

Matt Crafton, Tyler Ankrum, Raphael Lessard, Christian Eckes and Zane Smith rounded out the top-10 finishers.

Greg Biffle, who is making his first Truck Series start of the season, was 18th in Stage 1 in the No. 24 GMS Racing truck, and Trevor Bayne, who is making his first NASCAR National Series start in two years finished the Stage in 32nd, two laps off the pace.

Bayne had to make an unscheduled pit stop for what was believed as a flat tire, but it appears more mechanical issues may be happening on the No. 40 Niece Motorsports truck.

Stage and Playoff Points Awarded in Stage 1:

Finish Driver Stage Points Playoff Points
1 Brett Moffitt 10 1
2 Austin Hill 9 0
3 Sheldon Creed 8 0
4 Ben Rhodes 7 0
5 David Ragan 6 0
6 Matt Crafton 5 0
7 Tyler Ankrum 4 0
8 Raphael Lessard 3 0
9 Christian Eckes 2 0
10 Zane Smith 1 0

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: