Skip to content

National Motorsports Appeals Panel Overturns L2 Penalty for Alex Labbe and Mario Gosselin

Alex Labbe’s No. 90 Larue/Hotel Le Concord Chevrolet Camaro SS. Photo Credit: Jonathan McCoy/

The L2 penalty handed down to Alex Labbe and Mario Gosselin earlier this week, has been overturned after further consideration from the National Motorsports Appeals Panel.

The penalty – originally set for a loss of 75 driver points for Alex Labbe, a loss of 75 owner points for DGM Racing’s No. 36 and a $50,000 fine for team owner Mario Gosselin — will be revoked effective immediately.

With the 75 points Labbe will receive back, the Quebec-native will move from 20th to 16th in 2020 NASCAR Xfinity Series point standings, only 80 points below the playoff bubble.

The DGM Racing No. 36 – scheduled to be driven by Preston Pardus at Daytona’s Road Course — will move from 33rd in owner standings, to 23rd in 2020 NASCAR Xfinity Series owner standings, an upward move that will become more significant due to the new startling lineup procedure.

NASCAR has not yet announced if the overturning of the penalty will result in a new revised starting lineup for Saturday’s event, but based on calculations this would move Preston Pardus into a 12th-place starting position at Daytona this weekend, while AJ Allmendinger and the Kaulig Racing No. 16 would fall into 11th-place.

National Motorsports Appeals Panel Statement

(August 12, 2020)

The National Motorsports Appeals Panel today heard and considered an appeal of an L2 penalty issued on August 4 to owner Mario Gosselin and driver Alex Labbe in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

The penalty concerns the following section(s) in the 2020 NASCAR Rule Book: Sections 5.1.a & .d: Private Vehicle Testing.

The original penalty assessed: Gosselin was fined $50,000 and assessed with the loss of 75 owner points. Labbe was assessed with the loss of 75 driver points.

Upon hearing the testimony, the decisions of the National Motorsports Appeals Panel are:

  1. The Appellants did not violate the Rule(s) set forth in the Penalty Notice as it was written.
  2. The Panel rescinds the original Penalty assessed by NASCAR.

The panel consisted of the following three individuals:

  • Mr. Chuck Deery
  • Mr. Jay Signore
  • Mr. Kevin Whitaker

On Wednesday Afternoon, DGM Racing released a statement:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: