Skip to content

Zane Smith Collects Second Stage Win of 2020 in Convincing Fashion in Stage 1 of Saturday Truck Race In Kansas

KANSAS CITY, KANSAS – JULY 24: Ben Rhodes, driver of the #99 Tenda Heal Ford, Grant Enfinger, driver of the #98 Champion Curb Records Ford, and Zane Smith, driver of the #21 MRC Construction Chevrolet, lead a pack of trucks during the pace lap prior to the start of the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series Kansas 200 at Kansas Speedway on July 24, 2020 in Kansas City, Kansas. (Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series rookie contender Zane Smith has impressed all season long. Saturday, in Stage 1 of the Truck Series EPT 200 at Kansas Speedway, Smith led 24 of 30 laps and cruised to his second Stage Win of the season.

Brett Moffitt, who won Stage 1 of Friday’s race, finished runner up in Stage 1 on Saturday.

Matt Crafton has shown speed early as well and finished third.

Christian Eckes took the early lead for six laps, but faded to fourth down the stretch in Stage 1. His Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Brandon Jones finished fifth.

Brennan Poole, Chase Purdy, Todd Gilliland, Raphael Lessard and Derek Kraus rounded out the top-10 finishers in Stage 1.

Action sports superstar Travis Pastrana is making his first start in the series in three years. He looked decent in Stage 1, but had a flat tire, which forced him to pit road.

Pastrana is two laps off the pace in 33rd.


Friday’s race winner Austin Hill has struggled with an ill handling truck. He finished Stage 1 in 12th.

Stage and Playoff Points Awarded in Stage 1:

Finish Driver Stage Points Playoff Points
1 Zane Smith 10 1
2 Brett Moffitt 9 0
3 Matt Crafton 8 0
4 Christian Eckes 7 0
5 Brandon Jones* 0 0
6 Brennan Poole* 0 0
7 Chase Purdy 4 0
8 Todd Gilliland 3 0
9 Raphael Lessard 2 0
10 Derek Kraus 1 0

*indicates driver ineligible to score series points

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: