Skip to content

NASCAR Reveals Hall of Fame 2021 Nominees, Dale Jr., Carl Edwards Make First Appearance

(Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images)

NASCAR has unveiled their 15 nominees who are hopeful about being inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2021.

Of the 15 nominees, five of them are making their first appearance on the ballot.

The new names on the list include Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Carl Edwards on the modern era portion of the ballot, and legendary crew chief Jake Elder and car builder Banjo Matthews on the Pioneer portion.

Burton is a 21-time NASCAR Cup Series winner, while Earnhardt won 26 races in NASCAR’s top division as well as 15 Most Popular Driver Awards. Earnhardt also won two NASCAR Xfinity Series championships (1998 and 1999). Edwards is a 28-time NASCAR Cup Series winner and former Xfinity Series champion.

Joining Burton, Earnhardt and Edwards on the modern era ballot are: Neil Bonnett, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, Larry Phillips, Ricky Rudd, Kirk Shelmerdine and Mike Stefanik.

Joining Elder and Matthews on the pioneer ballot are: Red Farmer, Hershel McGriff and Ralph Moody.

This is the first year of the new elections process where two modern era and one pioneer era member will be inducted into the Hall.

Up for the Landmark Award are: Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins, Mike Helton, Dr. Joseph Mattioli and Ralph Seagraves.

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

2 thoughts on “NASCAR Reveals Hall of Fame 2021 Nominees, Dale Jr., Carl Edwards Make First Appearance Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: