Skip to content

Corey LaJoie to Start Third in Snowball Derby, Several NASCAR Names in Last Chance Qualifier

The 52nd annual Snowball Derby starting lineup is nearly set. On Friday night, Derek Thorn took the pole position for the prestigious Super Late Model event in Pensacola, Florida.

Starting third in the event will be NASCAR Cup Series driver Corey LaJoie. LaJoie will be driving a No. 7 Drydene machine.

Josh Berry, who has run some NASCAR Xfinity Series events for JR Motorsports in the past will roll from the grid in sixth, and Chandler Smith — who has run some Truck Series races for Kyle Busch Motorsports — will start from 10th in KBM’s No. 51 Super Late Model.

Meanwhile David Gilliland (22nd), Ty Majeski (23rd) and Derek Kraus (28th) are other familiar NASCAR National and regional series drivers who have locked themselves into the big show on Sunday.

Other NASCAR names weren’t as fortunate, and now face the Last Chance Qualifier Race as their opportunity to make the field. Four drivers will advance from the LCQ.

Carson Hocevar, who has made some NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series starts over the last couple of years will start from the pole in this 50-lap race, while Harrison Burton will start seventh.

Long-time NASCAR veteran and five-time Snowball Derby winner Rich Bickle will start 16th in the LCQ race and Jordan Anderson — who is competing in his first Snowball Derby will start from 19th spot in the last opportunity to make the field.

The 52nd annual Snowball Derby will take place on Sunday and is available to watch on

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: