Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Interesting Stat: Most Cup Series Championships After 55 Victories

LONG POND, PENNSYLVANIA – JUNE 02: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M’s Hazelnut Toyota, celebrates winning the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Pocono 400 at Pocono Raceway on June 02, 2019 in Long Pond, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Kyle Busch took home his 55th-career Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory this past weekend st Pocono Raceway, which puts him in a tie with Rusty Wallace for ninth on the all-time series win-list (view full all-time wins list here). But interestingly, Busch has just one Cup Series championship despite his dominance at the age of 34.

Where does that rank with the other eight drivers who have eclipsed the 55-win mark?

Seven-time Series champions, Dale Earnhardt and Jimmie Johnson lead the way in this statistical category as five of their championships came by the time they hit career-win No. 55.

Jeff Gordon, who had one of the most dominant stretches in Series history from 1995 to 1998, racked up three championships in his first 55 Series wins.

Cale Yarborough, David Pearson and Darrell Waltrip each recorded two wins by the time they had 55 wins on their resume.

So, who is with Busch in the one-championship and under crowd?

Wallace, who Busch tied this weekend had one championship by the time of his 55th — and final — Cup Series win.

“The King” Richard Petty had only recorded one of his seven titles by win No. 55 (however he still had 145 more wins in the tank at that point).

Bobby Allison knocked on the door to a championship seemingly forever before finally breaking through in 1983, however at the time of his 55th-career win he had no championships to his credit.

Ultimately, what does this mean for Busch? Nothing is set in stone, but each driver on this list — aside from Rusty Wallace — won at least one championship after career win No. 55, and in the case of Petty he won six more after career win No. 55. So, there’s that.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles