Sunday, October 1, 2023

Qualifying Fast Facts: 2019 Daytona 500

Qualifying Fast Facts
Daytona International Speedway
61st Annual Daytona 500

Provided by NASCAR Statistics – Sunday, 2/10/2019 @ 01:36 PM Eastern

- Advertisement -

Busch Pole Award Pole Winner: William Byron
Age: 21
Team : No. 24 – Axalta Chevrolet
Owner: Rick Hendrick
Crew Chief: Chad Knaus

William Byron won the Pole Award for the 61st Annual Daytona 500 with a lap of 46.319 seconds, 194.305 mph. The 42nd different driver to win the pole for the Daytona 500.
This is his first pole in 37 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races.

This is his first pole in three races at Daytona International Speedway.
Alex Bowman (second) posted his first top-10 start of 2019 and his third in six races at Daytona International Speedway.

Jimmie Johnson (third) posted his 22nd top-10 start at Daytona International Speedway.
Daniel Hemric (fifth) was the fastest qualifying rookie.

Bill Elliott, Cale Yarborough and Buddy Baker lead the series in Daytona 500 poles with four each.

A total of 10 drivers have posted multiple poles for the Daytona 500; Jimmie Johnson (two) and Chase Elliott (two) are the only active drivers with more than one Daytona 500 pole.
Hendrick Motorsports has won 13 Daytona 500 poles, the series most: Ken Schrader (1988, 1989, 1990), Jeff Gordon (1999, 2015), Jimmie Johnson (2002, 2008), Mark Martin (2010), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2011), Chase Elliott (2016, 2017), Alex Bowman (2018), William Byron (2019).

Hendrick Motorsports has won a record five Daytona 500 poles in a row (2015-2019).
Seven different manufacturers have won the pole for the Daytona 500, led by Chevrolet with 27; followed by Ford (12), Pontiac (eight), Mercury (five), Dodge (four), Oldsmobile (three), Plymouth (two). The 2019 Daytona 500 pole was the 700th pole for Chevrolet in the Monster Energy Series all-time

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles